Three named to Victory Sports Networks' All-American Honorable Mention Football Team

  • print
  • email
  • font +
  • font -
  • rss

From top to bottom: Ryan Gloer, Matt Yarbrough & Zach Morrison

From top to bottom: Ryan Gloer, Matt Yarbrough & Zach Morrison

Jan. 23, 2008

Grand Island, Neb. - The Victory Sports Network has released the 2007 NAIA Football All-American Teams, and three players from Shorter College were named to the Honorable Mention team. Zach Morrison made the team for offensive line, Matt Yarbrough made the team for defensive line and Ryan Gloer made the team for linebacker.

Morrison was key in Shorter's offensive line this year, contributing as a starter for his third straight season.

Yarbrough had 33 tackles this year on the defensive line with four sacks. Two of his sacks came against NCAA Division II Stillman College, for a 14 total yard loss.

Gloer, who was also named the Mid-South Conference's Defensive Player of the Year, led the Hawks in assisted tackles this season with 42, and tacked on 24 more unassisted tackles. He led Shorter in tackling in four games this season despite being hampered by shoulder problems.

The Shorter football team wrapped up their season on Nov. 10 with a win against Lambuth University to give the Hawks their winningest season ever at 7-4.

With the help of coaches from across the NAIA, VSN has now completed their second year of incorporating NAIA Coaches into the selection process. Previously, teams were selected by VSN only; now a committee of NAIA coaches votes on the teams compiled by VSN.

This season's VSN All American team saw a vast number of schools from across the country gaining honors. Carroll College led all NAIA teams with six players landing on the first and second teams, Sioux Falls followed with four; Ohio Dominican, Saint Francis (IN), Jamestown College had three All Americans.

For a complete list, visit victorysportsnetwork.com.

Shorter College Football
  Printer-friendly format   Email this article