Phil Jones named AFCA Regional Coach of the Year

  • print
  • email
  • font +
  • font -
  • rss

Head Coach Phil Jones

Head Coach Phil Jones

Dec. 9, 2008

Waco, Tex. - In today's announcement of the American Football Coaches Association's 2008 Regional Coach of the Year winners, Shorter College head coach Phil Jones has been honored as the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics' Region I winner.

Coach Jones began his fourth season with the Hawks this year, after beginning the program from scratch in the inaugural 2005 season. After coaching the team to 7-4 records the previous two seasons, he excelled in the NAIA this year with nine wins and only three losses, one of which was to NCAA Div. I-FCS Western Carolina. Additionally, he led Shorter to their first-ever postseason appearance in November against the University of the Cumberlands.

"We are very pleased that Coach Jones has received this national recognition for the job he did both this year and over the past four years," said Shorter athletic director Bill Peterson. "Shorter is blessed to have a man of such Christian character who is also an outstanding coach and leader. All of us here at Shorter are grateful that his hard work has been recognized by his peers."

First time winners Brady Hoke of Ball State, Henry Frazier of Prairie View A&M and seven-time winner Mel Tjeerdsma of Northwest Missouri State highlighted the list announced today. Cincinnati's Brian Kelly (Region 1), Mississippi's Houston Nutt (Region 2), Texas Tech's Mike Leach (Region 4) and Oregon State's Mike Riley (Region 5) rounded out the NCAA Div. I list.

From the NAIA, the winners were Cumberlands' (Ky.) John Bland and Shorter's Phil Jones (Region 1-tie); St. Francis' (Ind.) Kevin Donley (Region 2); MidAmerica Nazarene's Jed Stugart (Region 3); Dickinson State's Hank Biesiot (Region 4) and Carroll's (Mont.) Mike Van Diest (Region 5).

The 2008 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2009 AFCA Convention in Nasahville, Tenn. The dinner is scheduled for January 13.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association's five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by Active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

Shorter College Football
  Printer-friendly format   Email this article