Severns named SSAC Coach of the Year; five named All-Conference

  • print
  • email
  • font +
  • font -
  • rss

Robert Whitnell was named First Team All-Conference

Robert Whitnell was named First Team All-Conference

Nov. 15, 2008

Atlanta, Ga. - After taking the regular season conference championship, the Shorter College Hawks men's soccer team have plenty to celebrate. The year-end conference awards announced today by the SSAC, give them even more reasons.

After turning the team around from a sixth place conference finish last season, Josh Severns was named the SSAC Coach of the Year, his first such award.

Three Hawks were named to the All-Conference First Team - Robert Whitnell, Kyle Timberlake and Sebastian Stihler - and two were name Second Team - Anthony O'Garro and Dallas Dickerson.

Taking first team honors, Whitnell led the team in goals with an impressive 15, tacking on eight assists. Timberlake followed with four goals and two assists on the year, and Stihler had three goals (one of which was the game-winning first goal against nationally-ranked AUM).

Additionally, seven Shorter players were named to the year All-Academic list: Dallas Dickerson, Elliott Livesey, Anthony O'Garro, Aaron Pas, Stihler, Kyle Timberlake, and Ryan Timberlake.

This was one seasom with that will go down in the record books. Shorter won their first regular season conference title, and had first-time program wins over Berry College, Lee University, Auburn-Montgomery and Southern Polytechnic. They peaked in the NAIA Top 25 standings mid-season reaching as high as No. 16.

Shorter College Men's Soccer
  Printer-friendly format   Email this article